American Medical Society for Sports Medicine Annual Meeting
April 13-18, 2021 | Virtual Meeting

General Sessions
(Times listed are PT)


 
OTHER MEETING KICKOFF
 
1:35 pm President’s Welcome Tracy Ray, MD, FAMSSM; AMSSM President

1:35 pm Welcome and Announcements Amy P. Powell, MD, FAMSSM; First Vice President
Carlin Senter, MD, FAMSSM; Program Chair

 
SESSION #1 EXERCISE MEDICINE — MAKING IT WORK AROUND THE WORLD (2:00pm-4:25pm PT)
 
2:05 pm Harnessing the Science of Behavioral Change: Hip Hop Public Health Featured Speakers: Lori Rose Benson and Olajide Williams, MD

2:40 pm CASEM EXHANGE LECTURE: High Value Physical Activity Advice: How to Give the Right Activity Prescription to the Right Person at the Right Time Jane S. Thornton, MD, PhD, CCFP(SEM), Dip Sp Phy OLY

2:55 pm The Swedish Physical Activity on Prescription: Using a Patient-Centered Approach Mats Börjesson, MD, MD; FESC, FACC

3:15 pm AMSSM’s Collaborative Research Network and Exercise Medicine Anthony Beutler, MD, FAMSSM and Stephanie Kliethermes, PhD

3:25 pm AMSSM Research Summit: Best Exercise Medicine Practices for the Sports Medicine Irfan M. Asif, MD

4:00 pm PRESIDENTIAL KEYNOTE ADDRESS: “Footprints” Billy Mills

 
SESSION #2 LEVELING THE PLAYING FIELD – SPORTS MEDICINE FROM (5:00-6:30pm PT)
 
5:05 pm Consequences Associated with Low Physical Activity Access NiCole Keith, PhD

5:25 pm Leveling the Playing Field – An Overview of the National Youth Sport Strategy Katrina L. Piercy, PhD, RD, ACSM-CEP

5:40 pm Systemic Racism and Sports Medicine Care Emily Kroshus, ScD, MPH

6:15 pm Promoting Diversity within Sports Medicine: Current Gaps and Future Opportunities Carly Day, MD

 
EXHIBITS VIRTUAL EXHIBITS
 
1:05 pm VIRTUAL EXHIBITS (1:05-1:35pm PT/4:05-4:35pm ET)

4:25 pm VIRTUAL EXHIBITS (4:25-4:55pm PT/7:25-7:55pm ET)