American Medical Society For Sports Medicine Annual Meeting

April 12 - April 17, 2024 | Baltimore, MD

Research Summit

Research Summit

Sports Medicine for All: A CRN Research Summit on Justice, Equity and Inclusion


Health disparities regularly impact populations that have historically been underserved and underrepresented in their access to health care and to the quality of care they receive. These inequities have been shown to negatively affect health outcomes and quality of life. This conference will emphasize specific areas within sports and exercise medicine where health disparities have been previously identified or where they need to be further investigated, and it will also highlight best practices for conducting meaningful research in the field of sports and exercise medicine through an equity lens. 



Advance Registration DEADLINE: March 21st, 2023

Advance registration is strongly encouraged and must be received by March 21st, 2023. After this date, pre-registration will still be available until April 4th, 2023, but the registration rates increase by $35, and the fee is increased by an additional $25 for on-site registration.


• Conference Syllabus
• Continental Breakfast and a Boxed Lunch (for in-person registrants only)


If you are planning on attending the 2023 AMSSM Annual Meeting: You can register for the 2023 AMSSM CRN Summit as part of your 2023 AMSSM Annual Meeting registration by choosing to attend the 2023 AMSSM CRN Summit on the Annual Meeting registration form.

If you have already registered for the Annual Meeting and would like to add-on this course, please click here.

Alternatively, if you are NOT attending the 2023 AMSSM Annual Meeting: Please click here to register for the 2023 AMSSM CRN Summit Only.

Important Registration Instructions:

Please register online to reserve your place for the 2023 AMSSM CRN Summit. You can pay by check or credit card when you register online. If you pay by credit card, a receipt will be generated upon completing your online registration. AMSSM members will need to log in through “Member Log-in” prior to clicking on the online registration link.

Giselle Aerni, MD Madam Athlete
Irfan M. Asif, MD University of Alabama – Birmingham (UAB)
Lisa Barkley, MD Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science
Cheri Blauwet, MD Harvard University
Megan Burleson, DO Boston University
Nailah Coleman, MD Children's National Medical Center, Washington, DC
Jonathan A. Drezner, MD, FAMSSM Editor-in-Chief, BJSM; University of Washington
Marci Goolsby, MD, FAMSSM Hospital for Special Surgery, New York
Nicole Kaniki, PhD University of Toronto, Director of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion in Research and Innovation
Stephanie Kliethermes, PhD University of Wisconsin, AMSSM Research Director
Caitlin Nicholson, MD Rush University
Oluwaferanmi O. Okanlami, MD, MS University of Michigan
Lars Peterson, PhD (ABFM) American Board of Family Medicine
Amy Rauworth Chief of Development & Strategic Partnerships, The Lakeshore Foundation
Katherine M. Rizzone, MD, MPH University of Rochester, New York
Anthony Robles ESPN's NCAA Wrestling Analyst/Expert; Wrestling Analyst for the Pack-12 Network
Luis A. Rodriguez, MD, FAMSSM Miami Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
James Smith, MD University of Minnesota
Jeffrey L. Tanji, MD, FAMSSM University of California, Davis
Yetsa Tuakli-Wosornu, MD, MPH Yale University
Alicia J. Whittington, PhD, MPH Assistant Director of Engagement and Health Equity Research for Football Players Health Study at Harvard University
Jim Griffith, MBA, CAE AMSSM Executive Director
Mark Stovak, MD, FAMSSM AMSSM President
Irfan M. Asif, MD Chair of CRN Leadership Team
Stephanie Kliethermes, PhD AMSSM Research Director
Cheri Blauwet, MD 2023 AMSSM CRN Summit Co-Chair
Jeffrey L. Tanji, MD, FAMSSM 2023 AMSSM CRN Summit Co-Chair
Yetsa Tuakli-Worsornu, MD, MPH 2023 AMSSM CRN Summit Co-Chair
Katherine Rizzone, MD, MPH 2023 AMSSM CRN Summit Vice-Chair


Nailah Coleman, MD*
Children's National
Lisa Barkley, MD
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine & Science
Cheri Blauwet, MD§*
Harvard University
Stephanie Kliethermes, PhD§*
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Nailah Coleman, MD*
Children's National
Megan Burleson, MD*
Boston University
Mark Lavallee, MD, FAMSSM
University of Pittsburgh
Amadeus Mason, MD
Emory University
Monique Burton, MD
University of Washington
James Moeller, MD
Henry Ford Health
Stephen Paul, MD
University of Arizona
Carly Day, MD
Purdue University
Shawn Phillips, MD
Pennsylvania State University
James Smith, MD, MPH*
University of Minnesota
Jonathan Drezner, MD, FAMSSM
Editor-in-Chief, BJSM; University of Washington
Ashwin Rao, MD
University of Washington
Jeffrey Tanji, MD§*
University of California-Davis
Emily Kroshus, ScD, MPH
Seattle Children's Hospital
Katie Rizzone, MD, MPH*
University of Rochester
Yetsa Tuakli-Wosornu, MD, MPH§*
Yale University
Caitlin Nicholson, MD*
Rush University
Cleo Stafford, MD
Emory University
Robert Watts III, MSW
University of California-Berkeley
Julia Ray
Move United
Jeffrey Tanji, MD*
University of California-Davis
  Katie Rizzone, MD, MPH§*
University of Rochester
Yetsa Tuakli-Wosornu, MD, MPH*
Yale University
  Nicole Stern, MD
Stanford University

§ Chair or Co-Chair of Writing Group
* Member of Summit Planning Committee